The UK will ease quarantine restrictions for 59 countries – excluding South Africa – from July 10, according to a list published by the UK government.

Travellers arriving in the UK from the listed countries will no longer be subject to a mandatory 14-day quarantine period, which also means that British visitors to these countries will not have to go into quarantine when they arrive back in the UK.

While South African borders remain closed, South Africans will be allowed to travel to the UK if they are returning to work, study, or take up residence, and these travellers will be subject to quarantine.   

All visitors and UK residents will need to complete a passenger locator form on arrival in the UK.