Transport minister Fikile Mbalula has outlined how domestic air travel will work under South Africa’s coronavirus lockdown.

Limited domestic air travel for business purposes is allowed under level 3, subject to restrictions on the number of flights per day and authorisation based on the reason for travel.

The resumption of domestic flights will be rolled out in three phases, the minister said, with additional airports added in each phase as follows:

Phase 1

  • OR Tambo International Airport;
  • Cape Town International Airport;
  • King Shaka International Airport;
  • Lanseria International Airport.

Phase 2

  • Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport;
  • Polokwane International Airport;
  • Bram Fischer Airport.

Phase 3

  • Kimberley Airport;
  • Upington Airport;
  • East London Airport;
  • Umtata Airport;
  • Port Elizabeth Airport.


The limited domestic air travel means that flights will only be allowed to depart and land at selected airports in a phased manner, the minister said.

He added that only passengers will be allowed inside the terminal buildings and that temperature screening will be conducted at terminal building entrances before any passenger is allowed entry.

No passengers will be allowed inside the terminal buildings without masks.

“All the airports will have markings on the floor for social distancing of 1.5 metres. This will be applicable at check-in counters, security checkpoints and airport lounges.

“All airline check-in agents will wear face shields and the counters will be installed with protective screens. Check-in counters will also be frequently sanitised,” he said.

Mbalula said that passengers are encouraged to use self-check-in to avoid queues at the airport and that boarding will be staggered and prioritized in terms of the number of passengers to board.