Chile, Argentina, the Philippines and Egypt are among the latest countries to close their borders to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Egypt suspended all flights into and out of the country’s airports from noon yesterday (March 19), Prime Minister Mostafa Madbouly said in a televised news conference.

The flight shutdown will last through March 31, and during that time, hotels and tourist attractions will be sanitised.

Sebastian Pinera, President of Chile, announced on Twitter that from March 18, all land and sea borders had been closed to foreigners. Chilean citizens may enter, but will be placed in quarantine.

Argentina would close its borders for 15 days to non-residents, President Alberto Fernandez said in a televised press conference on Sunday (March 15). The ban was effective from March 16.

The Philippines has temporarily barred foreign nationals from entering the country after the Department of Foreign Affairs suspended its issuance of visas in all foreign service posts worldwide, according to the State news agency. The temporary ban will begin at 00h00 on Sunday, March 22.