Mauritius has closed its borders to all foreign nationals, including South Africans, effective March 19, 20h00 GMT.

The Prime Minister of Mauritius confirmed this Wednesday, March 18 that three people tested positive for Covid-19.

All passengers, including transit, will not be allowed to enter the country for a period of 14 days.

Air Mauritius will assist with rebooking all passengers back to South Africa, a statement said. More information would be available to the travel trade in the morning.